Critical Thinking

Help Us Repeal the Therapy Cap and Move Forward…

APTA is closer than ever before to gaining a permanent repeal of the therapy cap through an historic amendment led by Sen. Ben Cardin (D-MD) that could put an end to 18 years of temporary fixes, as part of the legislation being considered that also permanently repeals the sustainable growth rate (SGR).

Contact your senators now…Ask them to first allow a vote on Cardin’s amendment, and then to vote in favor of it.

I am recommending doing this through social media.  Below I have compiled a list of US Senators, and their social media accounts.  Flood them with social media feedback using the hashtag, #STOPTHETHERAPYCAP .  Using that hashtag, let them know the value of PT!  

State Senator Official Senator Twitter ID Senate Staff Twitter Id Campaign/Other ID Facebook (WIP)
Alabama Richard Shelby @SenShelby facebook20x20icon
Alabama Jeff Sessions @SenatorSessions @jeffsessions  facebook20x20icon
Alaska Lisa Murkowski @lisamurkowski @Lisa4Senate facebook20x20icon
Alaska Dan Sullivan @DanSullivan2014 facebook20x20icon
Arizona John McCain @SenJohnMcCain @TeamMcCain facebook20x20icon
Arizona Jeff Flake @JeffFlake @FlakeforSenate
Arkansas Tom Cotton @RepTomCotton @TomCottonAR
Arkansas John Boozman @JohnBoozman @Boozman4AR
California Dianne Feinstein @SenFeinstein @DianneFeinstein
California Barbara Boxer @SenatorBoxer @BarbaraBoxer
Colorado Michael Bennet @SenBennetCO @BennetForCO
Colorado Cory Gardner @repcorygardner  @CoryGardner
Connecticut Christopher Murphy @ChrisMurphyCT
Connecticut Richard Blumenthal @SenBlumenthal @DickBlumenthal
Delaware Tom Carper @SenatorCarper @SenCarper_Press  
Delaware Chris Coons @ChrisCoons @SenCoonsOffice @coons4delaware
Florida Bill Nelson @SenBillNelson @NelsonForSenate
Florida Marco Rubio @marcorubio @SenRubioPress
Georgia Saxby Chambliss @SaxbyChambliss
Georgia David Purdue @Perduesenate
Georgia Johnny Isakson @SenatorIsakson  @JohnnyIsakson
Hawaii Brian Schatz @brianschatz  @SenBrianSchatz  @SchatzforHawaii
Hawaii Mazie K. Hirono @maziehirono @mazieforhawaii
Idaho Mike Crapo @MikeCrapo @crapo4senate 
Idaho Jim Risch @SenatorRisch  @JimRisch
Illinois Dick Durbin @SenatorDurbin @DickDurbin
Illinois Mark Kirk @SenatorKirk @MarkKirk
Indiana Joe Donnelly @SenDonnelly 
Indiana Dan Coats @SenDanCoats @DanCoats
Iowa Chuck Grassley @ChuckGrassley @GrassleyOffice @GrassleyWorks
Iowa Joni Ernst @joniernst
Kansas Pat Roberts @SenPatRoberts @PatRoberts2014
Kansas Jerry Moran @JerryMoran @moranforkansas
Kentucky Mitch McConnell @McConnellPress @Team_Mitch
Kentucky Rand Paul @SenRandPaul  (new),
@DrRandPaul (old)
Louisiana Bill Cassidy @BillCassidy
Louisiana David Vitter @DavidVitter @senatorvitter
(no tweets)
Maine Angus King  @SenAngusKing @AngusKing2018
Maine Susan Collins @SenatorCollins @collins4senator
Maryland Barbara Mikulski @SenatorBarb
Maryland Ben Cardin @SenatorCardin @BenCardinforMD
Massachusetts Ed Markey @MarkeyMemo @EdMarkey
Massachusetts Elizabeth Warren @SenWarren @elizabethforma
Michigan Gary Peters  @RepGaryPeters  @Peters4Michigan
Michigan Debbie Stabenow @SenStabenow @StabenowPress @stabenow,
@TeamStabenow
Minnesota Amy Klobuchar @amyklobuchar
Minnesota Al Franken  @alfranken
Mississippi Thad Cochran @SenThadCochran
Mississippi Roger Wicker @SenatorWicker @RogerWicker
Missouri Claire McCaskill @clairecmc @McCaskillOffice  @McCaskill2012
Missouri Roy Blunt @RoyBlunt  @RoyBluntPress  @RoyBluntMO
Montana Steve Daines  @SteveDaines @DainesforMT
Montana Jon Tester @TesterPress @jontester
Nebraska Deb Fischer @SenatorFischer @DebFischer2012
Nebraska Ben Sasse @Sasse4Senate
Nevada Harry Reid @SenatorReid @SenadorReid
(En Español)
@HarryReid 
Nevada Dean Heller @SenDeanHeller @DeanHeller
New Hampshire Jeanne Shaheen @SenatorShaheen @JeanneShaheen
New Hampshire Kelly Ayotte  @KellyAyotte @AyotteNH
New Jersey Cory Booker @CoryBooker  @SenBookerOfc @Booker4Senate
New Jersey Bob Menendez @SenatorMenendez @Menendez4NJ
New Mexico Martin Heinrich @MartinHeinrich @Heinrich4NM
New Mexico Tom Udall @SenatorTomUdall   @tomudall
New York Chuck Schumer @SenSchumer @chuckschumer
New York Kirsten Gillibrand @SenGillibrand
North Carolina Richard Burr @SenatorBurr @Burrforsenate
North Carolina Thom Tillis @ThomTillis
North Dakota Heidi Heitkamp @SenatorHeitkamp @Heidi4ND
North Dakota John Hoeven @SenJohnHoeven @hoeven4senate
Ohio Sherrod Brown @SenSherrodBrown @SherrodBrown
Ohio Rob Portman @robportman @PortmanPress  
Oklahoma Jim Inhofe @InhofePress
Oklahoma James Lankford @SenatorLankford @jameslankford
Oregon Ron Wyden @RonWyden @WydenPress
Oregon Jeff Merkley @SenJeffMerkley  @JeffMerkley
Pennsylvania Bob Casey, Jr. @SenBobCasey  
Pennsylvania Pat Toomey @SenToomey @ToomeyForSenate
Rhode Island Jack Reed @SenJackReed
Rhode Island Sheldon Whitehouse @SenWhitehouse @SheldonforRI
South Carolina Lindsey Graham @GrahamBlog @LindseyGrahamSC
South Carolina Tim Scott @SenatorTimScott @votetimscott
South Dakota Mike Rounds  @RoundsforSenate
South Dakota John Thune @SenJohnThune @johnthune
Tennessee Lamar Alexander @SenAlexander @LamarAlexander
Tennessee Bob Corker @SenBobCorker @CorkerforTN
Texas Ted Cruz @SenTedCruz @tedcruz
Texas John Cornyn  @JohnCornyn @TeamCornyn
Utah Orrin Hatch @SenOrrinHatch @OrrinHatch
Utah Mike Lee @SenMikeLee @mikelee2010
Vermont Patrick Leahy @SenatorLeahy
Vermont Bernie Sanders @SenatorSanders @FriendsOfBernie
Virginia Tim Kaine @timkaine @SenKaineOffice
Virginia Mark Warner @MarkWarner @MarkWarnerVA
Washington Patty Murray @PattyMurray @MurrayCampaign
Washington Maria Cantwell  @CantwellPress @MariaCantwell
West Virginia Shelley Moore Capito @SenCapito  @CapitoforWV
West Virginia Joe Manchin @Sen_JoeManchin @JoeManchinWV
Wisconsin Tammy Baldwin  @SenatorBaldwin @tammybaldwin
Wisconsin Ron Johnson @SenRonJohnson @Ron4Senate
Wyoming Mike Enzi @SenatorEnzi @EnziforWyo
Wyoming John Barrasso @SenJohnBarrasso @barrassoforwyo

Physical therapists and patients can go to APTA’s Medicare Therapy Cap webpage for additional messaging. In addition, the US Senate’s website offers a contact lookup feature for phone numbers and email addresses.

The Senate is expected to take up the entire SGR repeal bill early next week after it returns from its congressional recess on April 13.

APTA is joined in this effort by its coalition partners and many other supporters including the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) and the American Heart Association. Please help us to urge our members to take action during this critical moment in our profession’s history.

Advertisements

Categories: Critical Thinking

Tagged as:

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s