So if you follow PT news on twitter or Facebook, you have probably already heard: the amendment to repeal the therapy cap has been rejected 58 to 42 (note: we only needed 60 for an adoption of the amendment).
So where do we go from here?  
Here’s what I suggest:
1. Below I have provided the information on those who voted “nay” to the amendment
2. Lets flood their phones, twitter accounts and Facebook with links to evidence on “why PT”
3. Use hashtag #Whythetherapycap
4.  If a senator (s) from your state voted against the amendment, ask them “why” they did not support the amendment.  Call their offices, tweet them, Facebook them, etc.  Summarize your interactions in the comments section of this blog and I will reincorporate them into a new post
If we are to make gains, and move to the forefront, we need to be unified and heard.  Everyone did such as an awesome job with #Stopthetherapycap and the effort does not end with this vote.  Let’s make ourselves known.  We improve lives; we reduce costs.
A Chart of Those who voted.
Red Text = Nay (or I support the therapy cap)     Green Text = Yay (I voted to #stopthetherapycap)

State Senator Official Senator Twitter ID Senate Staff Twitter Id Campaign/Other ID Facebook (WIP)
Alabama Richard Shelby @SenShelby facebook20x20icon
Alabama Jeff Sessions @SenatorSessions @jeffsessions  facebook20x20icon
Alaska Lisa Murkowski @lisamurkowski @Lisa4Senate facebook20x20icon
Alaska Dan Sullivan @DanSullivan2014 facebook20x20icon
Arizona John McCain @SenJohnMcCain @TeamMcCain facebook20x20icon
Arizona Jeff Flake @JeffFlake @FlakeforSenate
Arkansas Tom Cotton @RepTomCotton @TomCottonAR
Arkansas John Boozman @JohnBoozman @Boozman4AR
California Dianne Feinstein @SenFeinstein @DianneFeinstein
California Barbara Boxer @SenatorBoxer @BarbaraBoxer
Colorado Michael Bennet @SenBennetCO @BennetForCO
Colorado Cory Gardner @repcorygardner  @CoryGardner
Connecticut Christopher Murphy @ChrisMurphyCT
Connecticut Richard Blumenthal @SenBlumenthal @DickBlumenthal
Delaware Tom Carper @SenatorCarper @SenCarper_Press  
Delaware Chris Coons @ChrisCoons @SenCoonsOffice @coons4delaware
Florida Bill Nelson @SenBillNelson @NelsonForSenate
Florida Marco Rubio @marcorubio @SenRubioPress
Georgia David Purdue @Perduesenate
Georgia Johnny Isakson @SenatorIsakson  @JohnnyIsakson
Hawaii Brian Schatz @brianschatz  @SenBrianSchatz  @SchatzforHawaii
Hawaii Mazie K. Hirono @maziehirono @mazieforhawaii
Idaho Mike Crapo @MikeCrapo @crapo4senate 
Idaho Jim Risch @SenatorRisch  @JimRisch
Illinois Dick Durbin @SenatorDurbin @DickDurbin
Illinois Mark Kirk @SenatorKirk @MarkKirk
Indiana Joe Donnelly @SenDonnelly 
Indiana Dan Coats @SenDanCoats @DanCoats
Iowa Chuck Grassley @ChuckGrassley @GrassleyOffice @GrassleyWorks
Iowa Joni Ernst @joniernst
Kansas Pat Roberts @SenPatRoberts @PatRoberts2014
Kansas Jerry Moran @JerryMoran @moranforkansas
Kentucky Mitch McConnell @McConnellPress @Team_Mitch
Kentucky Rand Paul @SenRandPaul  (new),
@DrRandPaul (old)
Louisiana Bill Cassidy @BillCassidy
Louisiana David Vitter @DavidVitter @senatorvitter
(no tweets)
Maine Angus King  @SenAngusKing @AngusKing2018
Maine Susan Collins @SenatorCollins @collins4senator
Maryland Barbara Mikulski @SenatorBarb
Maryland Ben Cardin @SenatorCardin @BenCardinforMD
Massachusetts Ed Markey @MarkeyMemo @EdMarkey
Massachusetts Elizabeth Warren @SenWarren @elizabethforma
Michigan Gary Peters  @RepGaryPeters  @Peters4Michigan
Michigan Debbie Stabenow @SenStabenow @StabenowPress @stabenow,
Minnesota Amy Klobuchar @amyklobuchar
Minnesota Al Franken  @alfranken
Mississippi Thad Cochran @SenThadCochran
Mississippi Roger Wicker @SenatorWicker @RogerWicker
Missouri Claire McCaskill @clairecmc @McCaskillOffice  @McCaskill2012
Missouri Roy Blunt @RoyBlunt  @RoyBluntPress  @RoyBluntMO
Montana Steve Daines  @SteveDaines @DainesforMT
Montana Jon Tester @TesterPress @jontester
Nebraska Deb Fischer @SenatorFischer @DebFischer2012
Nebraska Ben Sasse @Sasse4Senate
Nevada Harry Reid @SenatorReid @SenadorReid
(En Español)
Nevada Dean Heller @SenDeanHeller @DeanHeller
New Hampshire Jeanne Shaheen @SenatorShaheen @JeanneShaheen
New Hampshire Kelly Ayotte  @KellyAyotte @AyotteNH
New Jersey Cory Booker @CoryBooker  @SenBookerOfc @Booker4Senate
New Jersey Bob Menendez @SenatorMenendez @Menendez4NJ
New Mexico Martin Heinrich @MartinHeinrich @Heinrich4NM
New Mexico Tom Udall @SenatorTomUdall   @tomudall
New York Chuck Schumer @SenSchumer @chuckschumer
New York Kirsten Gillibrand @SenGillibrand
North Carolina Richard Burr @SenatorBurr @Burrforsenate
North Carolina Thom Tillis @ThomTillis
North Dakota Heidi Heitkamp @SenatorHeitkamp @Heidi4ND
North Dakota John Hoeven @SenJohnHoeven @hoeven4senate
Ohio Sherrod Brown @SenSherrodBrown @SherrodBrown
Ohio Rob Portman @robportman @PortmanPress  
Oklahoma Jim Inhofe @InhofePress
Oklahoma James Lankford @SenatorLankford @jameslankford
Oregon Ron Wyden @RonWyden @WydenPress
Oregon Jeff Merkley @SenJeffMerkley  @JeffMerkley
Pennsylvania Bob Casey, Jr. @SenBobCasey  
Pennsylvania Pat Toomey @SenToomey @ToomeyForSenate
Rhode Island Jack Reed @SenJackReed
Rhode Island Sheldon Whitehouse @SenWhitehouse @SheldonforRI
South Carolina Lindsey Graham @GrahamBlog @LindseyGrahamSC
South Carolina Tim Scott @SenatorTimScott @votetimscott
South Dakota Mike Rounds  @RoundsforSenate
South Dakota John Thune @SenJohnThune @johnthune
Tennessee Lamar Alexander @SenAlexander @LamarAlexander
Tennessee Bob Corker @SenBobCorker @CorkerforTN
Texas Ted Cruz @SenTedCruz @tedcruz
Texas John Cornyn  @JohnCornyn @TeamCornyn
Utah Orrin Hatch @SenOrrinHatch @OrrinHatch
Utah Mike Lee @SenMikeLee @mikelee2010
Vermont Patrick Leahy @SenatorLeahy
Vermont Bernie Sanders @SenatorSanders @FriendsOfBernie
Virginia Tim Kaine @timkaine @SenKaineOffice
Virginia Mark Warner @MarkWarner @MarkWarnerVA
Washington Patty Murray @PattyMurray @MurrayCampaign
Washington Maria Cantwell  @CantwellPress @MariaCantwell
West Virginia Shelley Moore Capito @SenCapito  @CapitoforWV
West Virginia Joe Manchin @Sen_JoeManchin @JoeManchinWV
Wisconsin Tammy Baldwin  @SenatorBaldwin @tammybaldwin
Wisconsin Ron Johnson @SenRonJohnson @Ron4Senate
Wyoming Mike Enzi @SenatorEnzi @EnziforWyo
Wyoming John Barrasso @SenJohnBarrasso @barrassoforwyo

***The official tally is here

Article Tags:
Article Categories:
Critical Thinking

All Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *